Your County Government

The County Commission is comprised of five members, elected to a four-year term by voters. Exercising their legislative powers, the County Commission adopts ordinances (local laws) and resolutions to establish policies and programs to protect the health, safety, and general welfare of Martin County residents. Chapter 125.01 of the Florida Statutes establishes the specific duties and powers of the Board of County Commissioners.

The County Administrator is appointed by the County Commission to direct the functions of County Government under the auspices of the Board of County Commissioners. There are 12 departments under the direction of the County Administrator. These departments combine their efforts to provide residents with needed services, information, and programs.

Commission Meetings are held on scheduled Tuesdays at 9 a.m., in the Commission Chambers at 2401 SE Monterey Road in Stuart. All meetings are open to the public and citizens are encouraged to attend. There is opportunity for public comment at every meeting at 9:05 a.m. and 5:05 p.m. Commission meetings are televised live on Comcast Channel 20, U-verse Channel 99, MCTV online and YouTube.


Note: Florida has a very broad public records law. As a result, any written communication created or received by Martin County Board of County Commissioners' employees or elected officials is subject to disclosure to the public and the media, upon request, unless otherwise exempt. Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.

Martin County Districts Map

Find Your District

Locate where you live on the Martin County Districts Map to find your commissioner.