Alert:
Martin County COVID-19 Information Read moreFor Martin County COVID-19 Information
Alert:
CARES Act assistance available for individuals, businesses and nonprofits Read moreFor CARES Act assistance available for individuals, businesses and nonprofits

Martin County Beach Fire Permits

  • Friends enjoying a beach bonfire
Page Updated: 
October 19, 2020 at 08:43 AM

Fires on the beach are the perfect setting for memorable gatherings with friends and family. Want to enjoy the crackle of wood burning while roasting marshmallows to make delicious s'mores? We have great news for you!

Beach fires are allowed daily from 5 p.m. to 11 p.m. with a permit (in designated fire pits only) at Jensen Beach and Stuart Beach. Beach fire permits are only available during non-turtle nesting season (November – February). Permits are available between Friday, November 6, 2020 and Sunday, February 28, 2021.

Read our commonly asked questions below for important information before applying for a beach fire permit.

COST OF PERMIT: $50.00 + TAX

How do I get a beach fire permit?

Beach fire permits are ONLY available during non-turtle nesting season (November through February). Permits are issued by phone, Monday through Friday, beginning October 15, 2020, and no later than 48 hours prior to scheduled permit time.

To obtain a beach fire permit, please call Martin County Parks and Recreation, Monday through Friday, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m at (772) 221-1418.

Where can I have a beach fire with a permit?

Beach Fire Permits are ONLY issued for designated beach fire locations:

Jensen Beach
4191 NE Ocean Boulevard
Jensen Beach, Florida, 34957

Jensen Beach Designated Bonfire Location Map

Stuart Beach
889 NE Ocean Boulevard
Stuart, Florida, 34996

Map of Stuart Beach Campfire Sites

 

What is the age requirement to obtain a Permit?

Permits are issued only to adults over the age of 21.

Proof of Driver's License or State-issued ID will be required to obtain a Permit. This is important since the permittee will be responsible for all individuals attending the beach fire activity and will be expected to sign a waiver for the attendees of the beach fire. The permittee must be on site at all times during scheduled time listed on Permit.

Can children participate in beach fire activities?

Children under the age of 18 must be chaperoned by an adult 21 years of age or older at all times during the beach fire. The permittee will be responsible for all individuals attending the beach fire activity and will be expected to sign a waiver for the attendees of the beach fire. The permittee must be on site at all times during scheduled time listed on permit.

As the permittee, do I have the obligation to be on-site at all times?

Yes, the permittee must be on site at all times during the scheduled time listed on the Permit. The permittee will be responsible for all individuals attending the beach fire activity and will be expected to sign a waiver for the attendees of the beach fire. The approved Beach Fire Permit must be presented upon request from a Fire Official, Law Enforcement Officer, or Martin County Parks and Recreation staff. 

How many people can attend a beach fire?

Beach Fire permits are only issued to an individual or group of 49 people or less and do not allow for large activities, special events open to the public, or for activities that include vendors, amplified music, tents, entertainment, or other activities that the Martin County Parks and Recreation Department may consider as outside of the permit scope. If any of these activities are planned, a special event permit will be required; please contact the Martin County Parks and Recreation Department at (772) 221-1418.

Do I need to bring my own beach fire container and materials?

The Martin County Parks and Recreation Department will only provide the fire container to the permittee. Outside containers or apparatuses are not allowed.

In regards to beach fire materials, it is the responsibility of the permittee to attain and provide them. Beach fire material must not consist of salt treated lumber, tar paper, contents containing any rubber products, creosote treated lumber, glue impregnated material, plastic, foam, or household trash. All burn material shall be free of nails and metal. 

Vegetation or materials located within the beach park are not allowed to be taken, damaged, or used as material in accordance with Chapter 17, General Ordinances, Martin County Code. Flammable and/or combustible liquids must not be utilized for fueling beach fires. Paper and matches only must be used to ignite your fire and fluid/gasoline is not allowed. Material should not be stacked any higher than provided apparatus and a minimum of three (3) feet clearance from the outer edge of the provided apparatus at all times is required.

Appropriate beach fire material must be placed in the provided apparatus assigned to the permittee. 

Vehicles are not allowed on the beach and all material must be hand carried to the site.

Is alcohol allowed at a beach fire?

Yes, but consumption of alcoholic beverages is restricted to the beach, and no glass containers are allowed.

Can I have music at my beach fire?

Yes, non-amplified music is allowed as long as it is at low levels and in compliance with the County’s noise ordinance. For amplified music, contact the Martin County Parks and Recreation Department at (772) 221-1418; a special event permit may be required.

Until what time can I have the beach fire?

All beach fires must be extinguished by 11:00 p.m. Upon completion of beach fire, the fire must be extinguished completely.

Material or hot ashes may not be buried in the sand or disposed of in a trash container or dumpster. The permittee must close lid on fire pit and lock before leaving site. All litter or leftover material must be removed from the beach when the permittee is finished.

What if I need to cancel due to bad weather?

Unsuitable wind or weather conditions must be taken into consideration prior to and during the time of the permitted beach fire. If unsuitable conditions exist and permit must be canceled, Martin County Parks and Recreation will contact the permittee at the contact phone number provided before the start of permitted time.

Martin County Parks and Recreation will make every effort to contact the permittee at least 2 hours prior to activity, however, due to wind and weather conditions that may arise, Martin County Parks and Recreation has the right to cancel permitted activity at any time or to request extinguishment of fire at any time.

Anytime the State or County has issued a red flag warning or a drought exists, no permits will be issued and permits will be canceled. For cancellations made by Martin County Parks and Recreation based on these conditions, Martin County Parks and Recreation may issue a refund or offer another day to the permittee as an option.

For rain or other weather related issues or should the permittee cancel event for any reason, refunds will not be issued so please plan your activity accordingly.

Contact Us

If you have any further questions about obtaining a beach fire permit, please select the "Contact Us" button above to submit an inquiry, or call Martin County Parks and Recreation, Monday through Friday, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m at (772) 221-1418.

Back to top