Martin County COVID-19 Updates
Read moreFor Martin County COVID-19 Updates
CARES Act assistance available for individuals and businesses
Read moreFor CARES Act assistance available for individuals and businesses

Your County Government

Page Updated: 
August 09, 2020 at 07:52 AM

The five member Board of County Commissioners is the legislative governing body of Martin County. Each commissioner is elected to a four-year term by voters. Exercising their legislative powers, the County Commission adopts ordinances (local laws) and resolutions to establish policies and programs to protect the health, safety, and general welfare of Martin County residents.

The County Commission also guides the growth and development of the county to be consistent with the public interest. Chapter 125.01 of the Florida Statutes establishes the specific duties and powers of the Board of County Commissioners.

The County Commission also appoints the County Administrator and assigns, to the Administrator, executive responsibilities and powers to implement its policies. There are 12 departments under the direction of the County Administrator. These departments combine their efforts to provide residents with needed services, information and programs.


To contact your Commissioner or the County Administrator, select from one of the pages below. Not sure who your Commissioner is? View the Martin County Commissioner Districts Map.

Back to top